Review: Maybe One Day

Jan •  12 •  2014

I received this book for free from FTC: Exchange for honest opinion, Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Review: Maybe One DayMaybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
Series: Stand Alone
Published by HarperTeen on February 18th 2014
Genres: Young Adult-Contemporary
Source: FTC: Exchange for honest opinion, Publisher
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

I picked up this book wanting an emotional read. It was as I expected but certain parts stand out to me, especially the letter.

Plot: This story is about a young girl who best friend gets cancer. In the middle of all of this, instead of saving Olivia, Zoe finds herself. The thing with this plot is that is does move rather fast. One minute Olivia is at the doctor and the next, she is in the hospital getting treatment. The story never wavers far from their friendship, but the reader can see them get close, fall apart and then come together as best friends again.

Friendship/Love: My only beef is the friendship. It felt like Zoe is not her own person. She relies on Olivia for everything. Every decision she makes is based on Olivia. Will Livy like this? Will she be mad? etc. Those parts got me a little miffed in being that she can never do anything without Olivia. It was like, who was Zoe? Olivia on the other hand, I got a clear picture of. She is a strong-headed gal and is pretty clear about her thoughts/emotions while Zoe held them in. The whole love interest did pave way for the Zoe to become herself without Olivia. Once Zoe started seeing the guy, she started questioning everything and suddenly did things for herself.

Ending: The letter in the ending is very touching, I admit my eyes teared up because that letter really tied in the whole story. Life sucks sometimes.

This is a good book. I really did expect more from the story but  it did quite well overall. If you are looking for that emotional read to amp up your emotions, then read this one. Maybe One day is a great story.

I give it 4 BITES!

4bites

Happy Reading!

5 Comments

  1. Amy @ Book Loving Mom
    Jan 12, 2014

    Great review!! I will be reading this one soon. I am in need of a good emotional read and this sounds perfect for that!!

  2. I’ve read a couple of Melissa Kantor’s books and really enjoyed them, so I’m looking forward to this one. The premise bears a slight resemblance to THE F IT LIST, which I loved!

  3. Wendy Darling
    Jan 13, 2014

    Ooo, I’m reading this one soon–I’m glad to see you liked it! It sounds extremely emotional.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

  4. Jen @ YA Romantics
    Jan 14, 2014

    This one sounds so sad, but I’d love to give it a try!
    Thanks so much for stopping by! Jen @ YA Romantics

  5. Candace
    Jan 15, 2014

    It sounds super emotional but I have read one other book by her and it was wrote really well. She created very realistic characters. I’ll have to read this when I’m in the right mood.